About Ghana

Um Bilder in Originalgröße anzuschauen, auf das Bild klicken

Ghanaians are generally very cheerful and love to dance, sing and laugh.

Despite the widespread poverty and challenging living conditions the people are very welcoming and selfless. They support others in all circumstances and stick together.

On the streets of Ghana, especially in the larger cities, it is never quiet. There is always music playing somewhere, amongst others you can hear a lot of Reggae and the Ghanaian music genre “High- and Hiplife”. Occasionally you can also see preachers on the street corners, shouting into their microphone seemingly without ever catching a breath. 

The main roads are commonly used for street stalls especially because they are frequented by cars and small busses (the so called Tro Tros) and many people walk by the stalls. This creates traffic jams which gives the street vendors the chance to sell their goods to car and bus drivers as well as the passengers. Probably the most soled items are “Pure Water” which costs 20 Pesewas (about 2 Eurocents) and small snacks like Bofrot (look and taste a bit like doughnut holes). From mobile phone top-up credits to hygiene articles there’s almost nothing you can’t buy.

A large part of the people, especially for celebrations or the church visit on Sunday, wears colorful Kente fabrics with various patterns.

These fabrics can be purchased on markets. Clothing for women is only tailored by female tailors and vice versa, only male tailors make clothes for men. In Ghana, Black is only worn for funerals.

The streets of Ghana are loud and colorful. What is initially a culture shock for foreigners is an indispensable part of their lifestyle for the people of Ghana that has its origins in Ghana’s history.

  Germany Ghana
Total Inhabitants approx. 82 Mill. approx. 30 Mill.
Population density 229 Inhabitants per km² 109 Inhabitants per km²
Currency Euro New Cedi (1:6 -> 1 Cedi = 16 Cent)
Government Parliamentary Democracy Presidential Democracy
Religion 68% Christian (Catholic+Protestant), 3,7% Muslim, 28,3% Other or Undenominational 63% Christian (Catholic+Protestant), 16% Muslim, 21% Indigenous Religions
Alphabetization 99% 75%
Annual population growth 0,3% 2,2%
Child mortality rate 0,5% 10,1%
Deaths by AIDS < 1000 approx. 18.000
Life expectancy 80,3 years 65,3 years
Birth rate 8,4 31,7
Age distribution 0-14 years: 13,7%, 15-64 years: 66,1%, above age 65: 20.3% 0-14 years: 37.3%, 15-64 years: 59.1%, above age 65: 3,6%
Average Age 44,9 21,4

Geographical surface

357.375 km² 238.537 km²

Poverty is widespread in Ghana. A walk through the densely populated capital Accra shows the extent of the strong disparities of the country. Smelly sewers, street vendors, many of them women with babies on their backs and heavy loads on their head, that are working in the midday heat surrounded by exhaust fumes, children and teenagers burning electronic waste of richer countries in the peripheral quarters of the city to win copper. One of the largest barriers to economic growth is the electricity crisis which in 20154/15 caused power outages of more than 24 hours several times a week and affected all of the production sectors of the economy, but also the life of many people.

The rainy season poses an additional challenge to the people in Ghana. It often rains for weeks on end which causes the (often unpaved) roads to flood.

Über Ghana

Um Bilder in Originalgröße anzuschauen, auf das Bild klicken

Die Ghanaer sind ein sehr fröhliches Volk, das sehr gerne tanzt, singt und lacht.

Trotz allgegenwärtiger Armut und schlechten Lebensbedingungen sind sie sehr gastfreundliche und selbstlose Menschen. Sie helfen einander in allen Lebenslagen und halten zusammen.

Auf den Straßen Ghanas, vor allem in größeren Städten, ist es nie leise. Durchgehend hört man Musik, unter anderem Reggae und die ghanaische Musikrichtung „High- und Hiplife“. Auch Prediger, die ohne Luft zu holen in ein Mikrophon rein rufen, das an einen großen Lautsprecher angeschlossen ist sieht man ab und zu an Straßenecken predigen. 

Die Hauptstraßen sind gern genutzte Plätze für Straßenstände. Vor allem, weil Autos und Kleinbusse (die sogenannten Tro Tro’s) vorbeifahren und viele Menschen vorbeilaufen. Dadurch entsteht Stau und die Straßenverkäufer haben die Gelegenheit ihre Ware auch an Auto-, Busfahrer un Fahrgäste zu verkaufen. Am meisten wird wohl „Pure Water“ verkauft, welches 20 Pesewas kostet (ca. 2 Eurocent) und kleine Snacks wie Bofrot (Schmecken und sehen aus wie Berliner ohne Füllung). Von Handy Guthaben bis Hygieneartikeln wird alles angeboten.

Ein Großteil der Menschen trägt bunte Kentestoffe mit den verschiedensten Mustern, vor allem bei Feiern oder dem Kirchenbesuch Sonntags.

Kaufen kann man den Stoff auf Märkten. Kleidung für Frauen schneidern nur Schneiderinnen und Kleidung für Männer nur Schneider. Schwarze Farben werden dort nur für Beerdigungen getragen.

Auf den Straßen Ghanas geht es also laut und bunt zu. Was anfangs für Ausländer ein Kulturschock ist, ist für die Ghanaer eine nicht weg zu denkende Lebensweise, die ihre Wurzeln in der Geschichte Ghanas hat.

  Deutschland Ghana
Einwohner insgesamt ca. 82 Mio. ca. 30 Mio.
Bevölkerungsdichte 229 Einwohner pro km² 109 Einwohner pro km²
Währung Euro New Cedi (1:6 -> 1 Cedi = 16 Cent)
Regierungssystem Parlamentarische Demokratie Präsidentielle Demokratie
Religion 68% Christen (katholisch+evangelisch), 3,7% Muslime, 28,3% andere oder konfessionslos 63% Christen (katholisch+evangelisch), 16% Muslime, 21% indigene Religionen
Alphabetisiert 99% 75%
Bevölkerungswachstum pro Jahr 0,3% 2,2%
Kindersterblichkeit 0,5% 10,1%
Aids-Tote jährlich < 1000 ca. 18.000
Lebenserwartung 80,3 Jahre 65, 3 Jahre
Geburtenrate 8,4 31,7
Altersstruktur 0-14 Jahre: 13,7%, 15-64 Jahre: 66,1%, ab 65 Jahre: 20.3% 0-14 Jahre: 37.3%, 15-64 Jahre:59.1%, ab 65 Jahre: 3,6%
Durchschnittsalter 44,9 21,4

Fläche

357.375 km² 238.537 km²

Die Armut in Ghana ist allgegenwärtig, ein Gang durch die dicht besiedelte Hauptstadt Accra zeigt die Ausmaße der starken Disparitäten des Landes. Stinkende Abwasserkanäle, BettlerInnen und StraßenverkäuferInnen, darunter Frauen mit Babys auf dem Rücken und schweren Lasten auf dem Kopf, die bei Mittagshitze und beißenden Abgasen arbeiten, Kinder und Jugendliche verbrennen in den Randvierteln den Elektroschrott der reichen Länder um Kupfer zu gewinnen. Eines der größten wirtschaftlichen Wachstums-Hemmnisse ist die Stromversorgungskrise, die 2014/15 zu Stromausfällen von über 24 Stunden mehrfach in der Woche führte und alle Produktionszweige der Wirtschaft beeinträchtigte, aber vorallem auch das Leben vieler Menschen.

Auch die Regenzeit erschwert das Leben der Menschen. Wochenlang regnet es ganztägig, sodass vorallem die häufig nicht asphaltierten Straßen überfluten.