Maranatha School

Isolated, but therefore the children are all the more welcome

0
Students (1993)
0
Students (2019)
0
Room (1993)
0
Rooms (2019)
0
Teacher (1993)
0
Teacher (2019)

Additional information about the project:

The Maranatha School is located outside of Kasoa in a rapidly developing residential area called Millenium City. The infrastructure development in this area is rather insufficient which is why the school is very quiet but therefore also quite isolated. Many of the residents in this area live in houses that are still under construction. In addition, most buildings have yet to be connected to electricity. For many years the school was located in central Kasoa, but it had to be relocated as a result of land expropriation. The number of students has drastically increased ever since, as the new way to school is too long to manage without a school bus for most of the students. The public transport (small buses called Trotros) can only be reached by car but cars are very rare in this growing neighborhood.

Maranatha is open: quite literally, as there is whether a wall nor any other confinement of the premises. Taking care of securing the classrooms and school materials is therefore a big challenge. However, on the flip side the school is very spacious and provides a lot of space for the students. Since 2015 the building of the Maranatha School is continuously being built and is still not completed. Almost all rooms now have windows and doors with a lock but neither the school kitchen nor the sanitary facilities are usable so far. Two large water tanks, located on the first floor of the building to prevent theft, supply water for the entire school.

The large school yard which is covered in sand and gravel provides an excellent space to play soccer and also inlcudes a swing and a merry-go-round for the kids.

The director of Maranatha is the most experienced of our headmasters, he has been running the school with his heart and soul since 1993. We especially want to highlight that John (due to his own personal story) allows orphans and “underprivileged” children to participate in classes free of charge. He makes it work, even if this means he needs to dig deep into his own pockets. In his school all children are welcome. It doesn’t matter whether they are Christian, Muslim or member of one of the traditional religions in Ghana. Everyone is treated and supported equally, which is not self-evident. The phenomenon that the majority of the children live with their mothers is also prevalent at this school.

Maranatha accommodates a total of 275 students of which the majority visits higher class levels.

2017

A new school building in Millenium City is equipped with new windows, which shall protect from weather conditions and noise.

2018

The donations were used for 7 lockable, wooden double doors, that were manufactured exclusively by a local carpenter.

2019

The most recent donation, that we handed over in September 2019, was put aside by school director John Awuah. He is saving, until enough money has come together, to buy a new school bus, big enough to bring all children home safely and on time - unfortunately, there is a long way ahead of us, so far.

Details about requests

The area surrounding Maranatha School is still in a development process, which means that not very many people actually live in this area. Millenium City is additionally not well connected regarding its infrastructure which means that it rather difficult to get to the school. Currently a school bus is a top priority to ensure the schools continued existence.

Maranatha School

Abgeschieden, aber dafür sind alle Kinder umso herzlicher willkommen

0
Schüler (1993)
0
Schüler (2019)
0
Raum (1993)
0
Räume (2019)
0
Lehrer (1993)
0
Lehrer (2019)

Nähere Informationen zum Projekt:

Die Maranatha Schule befindet sich außerhalb von Kasoa, in einem sich rasant entwickelnden Wohnviertel namens Millenium City. Dieses Viertel ist infrastrukturell noch nicht erschlossen, weswegen die Schule zwar sehr ruhig, aber eben auch abgeschieden liegt. Viele Einwohner dieses Bezirks leben in unfertigen Häusern, ohne Dach oder Fenster, geschweige denn Strom. Die Einrichtung befand sich jahrzehntelang zentral in Kasoa, musste aber aufgrund von Landenteignung diesen Standort verlassen. Die Schüleranzahl ist seither sehr geschrumpft, denn nun ist für die meisten Kinder der Schulweg viel zu lang und ohne Schulbus nicht zu bewältigen. Der öffentlichen Nahverkehr (Kleinbusse sogenannte Trotros) ist nur mit dem Auto erreichbar und Autos sieht man dieser erst wachsenden Gegend so gut wie gar nicht.

Maranatha steht offen: Wortwörtlich, da es weder eine Mauer noch jegliche Eingrenzung des Geländes gibt. Somit muss der Schulkomplex sich verstärkt um die Sicherung der Klassenräume und Schulmaterialien kümmern, ist aber dafür sehr großflächig, wodurch die Schulkinder viel Platz haben. Seit 2015 wird das Gebäude der Maranatha Schule stetig weiter gebaut und ist noch immer nicht fertig. Fenster und abschließbare Türen sind mittlerweile in fast allen Räumen vorhanden, aber weder die Schulküche noch die sanitären Einrichtungen sind bisher benutzbar. 2 große Wassertanks, die auf der 1. Etage des Gebäudes stehen (damit sie nicht gestohlen werden), dienen zur Versorgung der ganzen Schule.

Der große, mit Sand und Kies bedeckte Schulhof kann gut zum Fußball spielen benutzt werden, auch eine verrostete Schaukel und eine Art Drehkarussell stehen für die Kinder bereit.

Der Direktor von Maranatha ist der erfahrenste von unseren Schulleitern; er führt diese Einrichtung seit 1993 mit Leib und Seele. Ganz besonders hervorzuheben ist,  dass John (aufgrund seiner eigenen, persönlichen Geschichte) Waisen und „unterprivilegierte“ Kinder kostenfrei am Unterricht teilnehmen lässt. Er macht es irgendwie möglich, auch wenn das bedeutet, dass er selber tiefer in seine Taschen greifen muss, als er eigentlich kann. In seiner Schule sind alle Kinder willkommen, egal ob christlich, muslimisch oder den traditionellen Religionen Ghanas angehörend. Alle werden gleich behandelt und gefördert- was nicht selbstverständlich ist. Das Phänomen, das die Kinder hauptsächlich bei ihren Müttern leben, zeigt sich auch hier.

Maranatha beherbergt insgesamt 275 Schüler, von denen die Mehrheit höhere Klassenstufen besuchen.

2017

Ein neues Schulgebäude in Millennium City wird mit neuen Fenstern ausgestattet, die die Schule vor Witterung und Lärm schützen sollen.

2018

Die Spenden wurden für 7 Doppeltüren aus Holz mit Schloss, die extra von einem lokalen Schreiner hergestellt wurden, verwendet.

2019

Die letzte Geldspende, die wir im September 2019 überreichen konnten, hat der Schuldirektor John Awuah zur Seite gelegt. Er spart, bis genug Geld zusammen gekommen ist, um einen Schulbus zu kaufen, der groß genug ist, um alle Kinder sicher und zeitig nach Hause zu bringen – leider sind wir davon noch weit entfernt.

Details zum Spenden-Anliegen

Die Umgebung der Maranatha Schule befindet sich noch in der Entwicklung, was bedeutet, dass noch nicht viele Menschen in dieser Gegend tatsächlich leben. Millenium City ist auch noch nicht infrastrukturell gut angebunden, weswegen es schwierig ist, die Schule zu erreichen. Aktuell ist  daher ein Schulbus von enormer Wichtigkeit, um das Fortbestehen dieser Schule zu gewährleisten.